Home » Amsoil Racing News » Kamm Earns Friday Night Win in Lake Geneva

Kamm Earns Friday Night Win in Lake Geneva

RAM TRUCKS SNOCROSS GRAND FINALE PRESENTED BY NIELSEN ENTERPRISES, LAKE GENEVA, WI- (MARCH 17, 2017), The tradition of concluding the snocross season in Lake Geneva, Wis. at the Grand Geneva Resort & Spa goes back many years, and it is the race, the venue and the big showdown that everyone looks forward to year after year.

The AMSOIL Championship Snocross Presented by RAM wrapped up the 2016-2017 season with three days of racing action to determine champions in both the Pro Open and Pro Lite divisions. On day one, the Pro Lite riders were on the sidelines watching the action as they did not run any races.

Coming into the day, the points race was tight with only a marginal gap between the top three riders: Tim Tremblay still held the number-one spot, with Kody Kamm and Tucker Hibbert riding on his heels in hopes of locking in the championship.

Pro OpenKody Kamm win Geneva 2017
For the final weekend of racing, ISOC officials added some weight to the points chase by offering five bonus points for a heat win. In an already-tight points race, it increased the stakes for the top riders.

Tremblay and Lincoln Lemieux were on deck for the first heat, along with Petter Narsa, Kyle Pallin, Ross Martin, Ryan Springer and Andrew Lindholm. Off the line and up the hill, Narsa grabbed the Stud Boy hole shot. Tremblay challenged Narsa lap after lap, but Narsa would go on to win.

In heat two, Kamm checked out from the field and never looked back, taking the win and earning 10 bonus points and the top qualifier. Hibbert earned a second and a fifth, while Tremblay took a second and a first. Narsa brought the Hentges Polaris in with a first and a second.

In the LCQ, five riders battled it out for a transfer spot into the final. Springer, Elias Ishoel, Corin Todd, Brett Nastala and Lindholm would make the transfer into the main.

With Kamm capitalizing on the bonus points in the heats, Hibbert and Tremblay were both seeking a win to regain some points. In front of a packed house, the riders were off the line, up the hill and bar to bar, with Narsa again grabbing the Stud Boy holeshot, followed by Tremblay and Lemieux. Down the Ski-Doo hill and into the tight right hander, Narsa fell off his sled to give Tremblay the lead, followed by Lemieux in second and number-one qualifier Kamm in third.

Coming into the FXR Corner, Kamm fell off his sled and Hibbert moved into third, but Kamm pushed hard to get back, pushing Hibbert to the outside lane while going to the inside and making the pass. Off the back starting line, Ishoel made a hard charge through the field and sat in seventh on lap two.

At the halfway mark, Hibbert fell off his sled on the Air Force downhill section. He finished the race, but was out of contention for a podium finish. Up front, Tremblay extended his lead almost five seconds over second-place teammate Lemieux, but Kamm closed the gap, and the two riders raced bar to bar on the top section of the track. Kamm made a hard charge to pass, but Lemieux quickly took the spot back. Down the Ski-Doo hill, they were once again racing bar to bar, but into the turn, Kamm made the pass for second.

With only two laps to go to the checkers, Tremblay headed up the Polaris section when he suddenly came to a stop after breaking a belt, giving Kamm the top spot followed by Lemieux. LCQ-transfer Ishoel, who made an incredible run to the front, moved into third. With the crowd on its feet cheering, Kamm took the checkers for the win, followed by Lemieux and Ishoel. The final results put Kamm only four points behind Tremblay, with Hibbert back 49 points.

Source: Amsoil Racing