Home » Amsoil Racing News » Hibbert Claims 124th Career Win in Deadwood

Hibbert Claims 124th Career Win in Deadwood

By: ISOC Racing

DEADWOOD, SD- (JANUARY 21, 2017), There is no better way to start off a day of AMSOIL Championship Snocross Series racing than with beautiful blue skies and mild temps. After a cloudy, dismal first day of action, Mother Nature cleared the skies, calmed the winds and poured in the sunshine for the second day of the U.S. Air Force Deadwood Snocross Presented by AMG Peterbilt.

A record crowd was on-hand for the final day of racing and the fans were not disappointed. There were epic battles through the heats, bar-to-bar racing in the finals, first-time podium finishers and dominating performances that brought the crowd to its feet.

Pro Lite
Heat racing action saw 2016 points champion Montana Jess (765) earn a win, rookie Nickolas Lorenz (572) finish first in both heats to earn the number-one qualifier and Travis Kern (201) grab the checkered flag. Points leader Aki Pihlaja (128) did not find any luck in Deadwood and was forced to run the LCQ along with round seven winner Zak Mason (63), with both transferring to the main.

Off the elevated start and into the first turn of the final, points leader Pihlaja found himself in the back of the field, while Evan Daudt (413) grabbed the Stud Boy holeshot and the early lead, followed by Lorenz and Kevin Wallenstein (122).

Maxime Taillefer (144) challenged Wallenstein for third and made the pass through the Polaris corner, but Wallenstein fought back to reclaim his position, and while the two raced to the AMSOIL finish line and through the FXR Turn, Taillefer made the pass again down the back stretch. Trying to make a move on the inside, Taillefer tangled with Lorenz, forcing both riders off their sleds. Wallenstein and Cole Cottew (21) avoided the incident and moved into second and third.

With Daudt continuing to lead, Pihlaja made his way through the field in pursuit of a podium spot. Mid-way through the race, several riders were involved in a pileup in the Polaris corner that took several laps to clear. Up front Daudt extended his lead to five seconds. Wallenstein closed the lead, but was unable to catch him. Daudt claimed his first Pro Lite victory, followed by Wallenstein and Cottew.

Pro Open
The Pro Open heat races saw some high-flying action, including a huge jump on the back stretch that catapulted the riders high above the Deadwood crowd. Petter Narsa, Lincoln Lemieux (13) Kody Kamm (53) and Ross Martin (837) all earned first-places finishes, while Tucker Hibbert (68) experienced some trouble in heat one, but locked-in a second-place finish in heat two. Round seven winner Ryan Springer (541) was unable to claim a spot on the front row of the final, but ran the LCQ for a transfer spot.

On the final race of the night, Hibbert pulled the Stud Boy hole shot. Three wide through the corner, Kyle Pallin (324) made the pass for the lead while Elias Ishoel (200) forced Hibbert back to third. Over the AMSOIL finish line and through the FXR Turn, Hibbert moved to the inside to overtake both Ishoel and Pallin and reclaim the lead.

Pallin was taken out while working his way around the Arctic Cat corner, forcing him out of the battle for first, while Springer passed Ishoel and settled into second. Points leader Tim Tremblay (11) worked his way up and challenged Ishoel for third, making the inside pass on lap 12. Hibbert extended his lead to 16 seconds before taking the checkers and his 124th career win, followed by Springer in second and Tremblay in third. Pallin passed Ishoel for fourth. Tremblay would later be awarded second and Pallin third after ISOC officials disqualified Springer for passing on a yellow flag.

Source: Amsoil Racing