Home » Uncategorized » Check out (Legendary Knoxville and Williams Grove Tracks Return for 2017 USAC Sp…

Check out (Legendary Knoxville and Williams Grove Tracks Return for 2017 USAC Sp…

Check out (Legendary Knoxville and Williams Grove Tracks Return for 2017 USAC Sprint Season) on National Synthetics http://bit.ly/2gEx3Gm

By: USAC Racing
Two of the most storied dirt tracks in the United States return to the USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car calendar in 2017.
On June 3, the series invades the legendary half-mile Knoxville Raceway for the first time since 2011. The Saturday night event coincides with National Sprint Car Hall of Fame induction weekend at the Iowa dirt oval.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania’s Williams Grove Speedway, the only venue on this year’s 47-race slate that was on the Sprint Car schedule in USAC’s inaugural year of 1956, will host its first series race since 1996 as part of the 11th edition of “Eastern Storm” on June 15.
In addition, the USAC Sprints call Tri-City Speedway home once again, where the series hasn’t visited since 2006. The May 19 date at the Granite City, Ill., track will also feature the USAC Midget National Championship. July 30 marks a return visit to Randolph County Raceway in Moberly, Mo. USAC’s lone appearance there came in 1989 when the late Rich Vogler won a rare winged race for Hoffman Auto Racing.
Furthermore, the series will make initial appearances at Indiana’s Plymouth Speedway on April 21; Pevely, Missouri’s Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 on May 20; and Greenwood, Nebraska’s I-80 Speedway on June 2.
Traditional USAC stops on the 2017 horizon include the season-opening “Winter Dirt Games” for three straight nights at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla. Eldora Speedway’s docket features multiple showcase events with back-to-back nights of LetsRaceTwo on May 12-13 alongside the World of Outlaws Craftsman Sprint Cars. Fast forward to Sept. 23 when the Rossburg, Ohio half-mile is the showplace for the 36th running of the “4-Crown Nationals” that also features USAC’s Silver Crown and National Midget divisions as well as the Arctic Cat All Star Circuit of Champions.
Western Indiana’s Terre Haute Action Track pays homage to a pair of USAC racing heroes from year’s past. The 47th running of the “Tony Hulman Classic” hits the Wabash Valley Fairgrounds half-mile on May 24 while the “Jim Hurtubise Classic” is earmarked for Sept. 15.
The “Eastern Storm” and “Indiana Sprint Week” series have become institutions in their respective regions of the country, annually playing to large crowds and some of the most intense racing seen all year long. It will be no different in the five-race Eastern Storm series that runs from June 13-18 in the Keystone State. The first two nights will be held at a pair of tracks to be announced at a later date. Williams Grove serves up a feast of racing action on June 15, then a one-day break from action before closing out the mini-series at Port Royal Speedway on the 17th and Susquehanna Speedway on the 18th.
The 30th annual “Indiana Sprint Week” series consistently stands as one of the country’s premier events. Its schedule of events remains just as consistent. Once again, ISW launches at Gas City I-69 Speedway on July 7 with Kokomo Speedway and Lawrenceburg Speedway rounding out the first weekend of racing July 8-9, respectively. A two-day sabbatical gives way as the action roars back to life for the final four-race stretch of ISW at Terre Haute, Putnamville’s Lincoln Park Speedway, Bloomington Speedway and Haubstadt’s Tri-State Speedway on July 12-15.
The sole non-points, special event of the USAC Sprint season occurs on Aug. 23 as a prelude to three more consecutive nights at Kokomo and “Sprint Car Smackdown VI” on Aug. 24-26.
Lawrenceburg hosts a pair of events – one in the spring and one in the fall – as does Tri-State. The three-eighths mile Lawrenceburg oval brings the series to town for both the Midwest opener on April 1 as well as the Midwest closer on Sept. 30. Bloomington Speedway’s red clay will fly when USAC makes a visit on April 14, which kicks off a double-header weekend that moves to Tri-State the following night at the “Spring Showdown” on April 15 for the first of two shows at the quarter-mile paperclip co-sanctioned by MSCS. The series makes the trek back to Tri-State for the “Haubstadt Hustler” on Sept. 16.
Additional dates include trips to Indiana’s Montpelier Motor Speedway and Lincoln Park Speedway on April 22 and June 30, respectively, as well as a date at Lakeside Speedway in Kansas City, Kan., on July 29.
The series closes out its campaign with a multitude of events in conjunction with the USAC/CRA AMSOIL Sprint Car Championship for a pair of annual events headquartered in the western U.S. First up is the 50th annual “Western World Championships.” The golden anniversary of the famed event that has been a staple of the southwest since 1968 takes place at Queen Creek’s Arizona Speedway on Nov. 3-4.
The season closes with the three-night spectacular known as the Budweiser “Oval Nationals” presented by All Coast Construction on Nov. 9-11. The 22nd running at southern California’s Perris Auto Speedway pits the best from the National and CRA scenes against each other for bragging rights in what is annually the highest-paying purse of the year.
Feb. 23: Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, Fla.)
Feb. 24: Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, Fla.)
Feb. 25: Bubba Raceway Park (Ocala, Fla.)
April 1: Lawrenceburg Speedway (Lawrenceburg, Ind.)
April 14: Bloomington Speedway (Bloomington, Ind.)
April 15: (M) Tri-State Speedway (Haubstadt, Ind.)
April 21: Plymouth Speedway (Plymouth, Ind.)
April 22: Montpelier Motor Speedway (Montpelier, Ind.)
May 6: TBA
May 12: Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, Ohio)
May 13: Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, Ohio)
May 19: Tri-City Speedway (Granite City, Ill.)
May 20: Federated Auto Parts Raceway at I-55 (Pevely, Mo.)
May 24: Terre Haute Action Track (Terre Haute, Ind.)
June 2: I-80 Speedway (Greenwood, Neb.)
June 3: Knoxville Raceway (Knoxville, Iowa)
June 13: (E) TBA
June 14: (E) TBA
June 15: (E) Williams Grove Speedway (Mechanicsburg, Pa.)
June 17: (E) Port Royal Speedway (Port Royal, Pa.)
June 18: (E) Susquehanna Speedway (York Haven, Pa.)
June 30: Lincoln Park Speedway (Putnamville, Ind.)
July 7: (I) Gas City I-69 Speedway (Gas City, Ind.)
July 8 (I) Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, Ind.)
July 9: (I) Lawrenceburg Speedway (Lawrenceburg, Ind.)
July 12: (I) Terre Haute Action Track (Terre Haute, Ind.)
July 13: (I) Lincoln Park Speedway (Putnamville, Ind.)
July 14: (I) Bloomington Speedway (Bloomington, Ind.)
July 15: (I) Tri-State Speedway (Haubstadt, Ind.)
July 28: TBA
July 29: Lakeside Speedway (Kansas City, Kan.)
July 30: Randolph County Raceway (Moberly, Mo.)
Aug. 23: (SE) Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, Ind.)
Aug. 24: Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, Ind.)
Aug. 25: Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, Ind.)
Aug. 26: Kokomo Speedway (Kokomo, Ind.)
Sept. 15: Terre Haute Action Track (Terre Haute, Ind.)
Sept. 16: (M) Tri-State Speedway (Haubstadt, Ind.)
Sept. 23: Eldora Speedway (Rossburg, Ohio)
Sept. 30: Lawrenceburg Speedway (Lawrenceburg, Ind.)
Oct. 6: TBA
Oct. 7: TBA
Nov. 3: (C) Arizona Speedway (Queen Creek, Ariz.)
Nov. 4: (C) Arizona Speedway (Queen Creek, Ariz.)
Nov. 9 (C) Perris Auto Speedway (Perris, Calif.)
Nov. 10 (C) Perris Auto Speedway (Perris, Calif.)
Nov. 11 (C) Perris Auto Speedway (Perris, Calif.)

Source: Amsoil Racing